Water damage is available in many shapes and forms, and can leave lasting damage to not only your property but your wellbeing as well, or even managed correctly. One of many first steps to relieving your property of potential water damage is to determine what type of water damage you are dealing with. In line with the Institute of Inspection Cleaning and Restoration Certification (IICRC) there are three types of water damage, which they outline inside their Standard and Reference Guide for Professional Water Damage Restoration (the S500). Water damage is categorized by its source, period of time in the structure, history of the structure, and other impactful factors like chemicals such as for example pesticides, fertilizers, animal feces, fuel, detergents, rat poison, etc.

Category 1
The initial form of water damage they outline is Category 1, including burst water pipes, leaking appliances, and small amounts of rainwater. The defining characteristic of Category 1 water is it is clean at the origin, and therefore doesn’t pose a hazard if consumed by people. Category 1 water requires not as equipment and time for you to remedy.

Kinds of Category 1 water damage include, but are not limited by burst water pipes, failed supply lines on appliances, falling rainwater, melting snow or ice, broken toilet tanks, or toilet bowl over flow that doesn’t contain any contaminants. While this type of water damage is definitely not hazardous, when it is not managed it could turn to category 2 within 24 hours. The period period could be sped up if the right conditions for microorganism growth exist such as for example stagnant air, humidity, and moderate temperatures (68-86 degrees Fahrenheit).

Category 2
Category 2 water damage, or gray water, is characterized by you start with some number of contamination at the origin, or Category 1 water that’s been neglected as previously mentioned before. This sort of water damage is moderately dangerous, and may cause some degree of sickness or discomfort for folks or animals if exposed.

The most common types of Category 2 water damage are discharge from washing machines or dishwashers, toilet flow overflow with urine but no feces, sump pump back-up, hydrostatic pressure seepage, washer overflow, broken aquariums, and puncture water beds. These cases of water damage may contain chemicals, bio-contaminants, and other forms of contamination which are hazardous to human health. Health effects are as follows: allergic asthma, allergic rhinitis, hypersensitivity pneumonitis (lung tissue inflammation), burning eyes, skin irritation, inflammatory response, nausea, headache, and fever. Again, time and conducive temperatures enable deterioration to a Category 3 within 48 hours.

Category 3
The ultimate and most dangerous form of water damage is Category 3, or black water. Black water is highly contaminated, contains pathogens, and may cause serious illness as well as death in extreme conditions. Any person with a poor immune protection system, respiratory illness, allergies, or young children should remain away from the structure for the duration of the infection and clean-up.

Examples of this type of damage include sewage, ground surface water intrusion, toilet backflow from beyond the trap, and flooding sweater/rivers/streams that have entered the premises. Flooding water brings in silt and other organic matter, that’ll have bacteria growing inside it, and resting stagnant in your home will simply provide a considerably better environment by which microorganisms can grow. Negative health effects from black water are numerous, and include bacterial infections from E mold remediations. coli, salmonella, and shigella, soil organisms like Streptomyces, saccharopolyspora, thermonospora, viruses like rotavirus, hepatitis, and echovirus, and even parasites such as for example giardia, cryptosporidium, and others. In just about any situation, black water is quite serious and needs to be managed immediately.

Besides categories of water damage, additionally, there are 4 classes per the IICRC. Water damage is divided into class based on the rate of evaporation required. Often the type of material that’s been affected is the determining factor.

Class 1
The water loss has been limited by just a partial room area, and the materials effected are of low porosity (water is retained on the surface). There’s little if any wet carpet or cushion.

Class 2
The whole room is affected, along with the carpet and cushion. Water has wicked up the walls 1-2 feet. Moisture remains in the structure of the building.

Class 3
The slowest evaporation rate and water may attended from above. Ceilings, walls, carpet, cushion, and sub-floor is all saturated, and will need ample time for you to dry.

Class 4
Class 4 comprises wet materials with low porosity or permeation such as for example hardwood, concrete, stone, brick, or plaster. Water has formed deep pockets of saturation and will need special equipment that produces an environment of suprisingly low humidity.

As you can see, water damage is just a very serious matter. Or even managed immediately, the negative health effects are numerous. If your house or other property has been afflicted with almost any water mentioned or not mentioned above, I will suggest calling an expert restoration company ASAP. They will know exactly things to do.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *